Thursday, April 16, 2020

BOOK TOUR: Ordinary by Starr Z. Davies


Ordinary 
Ordinary Series Book 1 
by Starr Z. Davies 
Genre: YA Sci-Fi Dystopian 

Fans of Powerless, The Testing, Hunger Games and the Maze Runner will crave this world of iniquitous secrets, intrigue, and desire to find a place in society. 

Divinic. Somatic. Psionic. Naturalist. Who will you be? 

Having a superpower is ordinary. Your Power determines your job, social class, and future success. 

But Ugene doesn’t have a Power. The only thing special about him is that he isn’t special at all. Ugene is Powerless. 

So when the most prominent biomedical research company in the city offers Ugene a solution, he jumps at the possibility to be ordinary. All he has to do is agree to allow them to use him in their research. But the longer he stays at the research facility, the more he realizes something isn't right. 

Friendships are forged. Trust is broken built and broken. And everything Ugene thought he understood and believed is called into question. 

Who can Ugene trust in his search for answers? What is he willing to sacrifice for Powers? 


REVIEW: 
This is a really great start to a new series.  Kinda reminds me of Divergent, how everyone is tested and according to their strengths put into different jobs or categories.  Ugene however doesn't have any powers, he is completely and utterly ordinary.  His unique condition is brought to the attention of one of the biggest Pharma companies that wants to study him saying that he could be the key to unlocking powers or boosting powers.  It seems that peoples powers are diminishing in strength so they need to find a way to stop this in order to keep their way of life going.  However Ugene offers something even scarier, what Ugene has is brains, he uses his mind to think his way out of problems and finds solutions, he shows that by working together people have a better chance than if they worked alone.

There is really a lot in this book that could be broken down and examined, it is a good story with a good message, you don't have to have a magical power to be special or important.  I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next in the series.




STARR Z. DAVIES is a Midwesterner at heart, and lives in Wisconsin with her husband and kids. From a young age, Starr has been obsessed with superheroes like Batman and Captain America, which inspired her novel, ORDINARY. If Starr had a superpower, she would be an Empath, because she is an emotional sponge and easily relates to how others feel. 

While pursuing a degree in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin, Starr gained a reputation as the “Character Assassin” because she has a habit of utterly destroying her characters both emotionally and physically. 

In her free time, Starr loves watching Doctor Who or anything with superheroes, reading books (duh!), writing about her favorite fantasy stories (Song of Ice and Fire, Mistborn, The Wheel of Time), and staring out the window as she dreams up more stories. Oh, and sometimes she steps out the door. 




Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!




No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...