Publication Date: September 6, 2021
Format: Hardcover
Genre:  Coming of Age

Publisher: Boyle & Dalton 
 377 pages
Buy: Kindle | Audio


Told by a tart-tongued young woman with a love of Bruce Springsteen, Lies in Bone is at once a mystery and a coming-of-age tale fueled by dark secrets involving love, murder, and the truths worth lying for. 

On Halloween 1963, 11-year-old Chuck Coolidge and his brother, Danny, are lost in a toxic smog covering the steel town of Slippery Elm, Pennsylvania. When the smog lifts, half the town is sick, and 20 people are dead. And Danny is missing. Now, more than 20 years later, Chuck's teenage daughter, Frank, plots her escape from this "busted and disgusted" town. 

When a murdered child is found in the river, investigators link the crime to the disappearance of Danny in '63, and Frank's life is turned upside down. In the face of her worst fears, she must uncover her family's dark past if she wants to keep her sister, Boots, from the hands of the state. 


Frankie, her father and hers sister Boots all move back to her dads home town. Back to the city that believes he is a child killer, back to the house where his mother blames him for the death of his brother. 

Still feeling the loss of their mother who left them, Frankie hates this run down little town.  Her father is a dreamer but spends most of his time drinking blaming himself for his brothers death. A strange little girl from a religious family starts spending time at their house, making friends with Boots.  When she turns up dead Frankies father is the prime suspect and the cop is the same one who investigated the disappearance of his brother. 

While this is a dark book I also found it inspiring in that Frankie survives and learns to thrive.  She breaks free of the darkness overshadowing this town and finds the light. 

Click on the 3 lines at the top of the blog to view my sidebar where you can follow me on facebook, bloglovin, and amazon